Standing Up For What You Think Is Right

I was reading that same article earlier today and was surprised that I never learned about him in school, yet we learned about Rosie Parks and Martin Luther King and the Stolen Generation and the White Australia Policy. This relates to all of that as well. It’s a pity it was never included in the history lessons we were given during school at the time.

A Momma's View

The white man in that photo

Today I stumbled across an article posted on Facebook that touched me on many levels. Not only is the story touching and inspiring (I highly recommend you head over and read it) but it also shows how society worked and how fragile we are. On top of that it highlights once again that pictures can be deceiving.

When I looked at the picture for the first time I really saw the two black men with their fists in black gloves and raised while the white guy is standing there, glancing at something. I agree for me as well he seemed not interested, maybe even annoyed about what was going on behind him.

And then I read the story.

And I learned.

I learned about Peter Norman, an Australian athlete, whom this exact moment of glory would cost his career and much more in the aftermath. A man who stood…

View original post 588 more words

About mypersonallthing

Musings from an unknown Writing about random things, books I'm reading and snippets from my daily life. View all posts by mypersonallthing

Post A Comment

