Strange Inspirations

I first started listening to Mötley Crüe when I was about 18 or 19 after finding out about them on Tumblr from people I was following. It didn’t take me very long to get into their music. Within about a year, I had all their albums from the 80’s, had gone to their 2011 concert and read their memoir The Dirt several times (and no I didn’t attend one of their concerts on their The Final Tour due to a number of reasons. I don’t regret it as having seen them once was pretty good. At least I can say that I saw them live).

Not long after that, I bought Nikki Sixx’s The Heroin Diaries which was another eye opener about drug abuse and drug addiction (I had read Slash’s memoir and Anthony Kiedis’s Scar Tissue several years before reading The Dirt and The Heroin Diaries). My mum bought me This Is Gonna Hurt by Nikki Sixx for my 20th birthday and not long after that I had bought the Sixx:A.M. soundtracks for the two books.

Nikki Sixx has become a sort of strange inspiration to me. I’ve never been addicted to alcohol or drugs or anything else that can cause destruction in my life. I think it was because he had a shitty childhood and was a bit of a loner when he was younger. And I think it was because he had hit rock bottom after years of substance abuse and crawled his way back to the top and turned his life around. I think it’s because he strives to lead a better life and to become a better person. And I think it’s because he’s been so honest about it all in hopes to help others get their lives around and be better people.

That is inspirational for me – going from rock bottom after being in a destructive lifestyle for so long and crawling back out of it to be a better person and to have a better life. And sharing your story so others can have hope of getting themselves out of similar situations.

About mypersonallthing

Musings from an unknown Writing about random things, books I'm reading and snippets from my daily life. View all posts by mypersonallthing

Post A Comment

