Perhaps

I’ve been thinking about what had happened over the weekend. I was told that there had been complaints about the way I had treated a group of people who were at a couple of functions I was helping out with a few weeks ago. The person who told me that there had been complaints was pretty angry with me. I think that they are still angry with me. This person told me that they are sick of my attitude. They also accused me of trying to wreck their business even though I am not trying to do that at all.

Perhaps my attitude is stopping me from changing and from being able to speak to people well. Maybe I’m not enjoying hospitality as much as I thought I was. Maybe I’m getting sick of it as it’s been the same kind of thing nearly every time I’m there. Maybe it’s because I’m not a people person and I’m an introvert and am not used to having to be nice and friendly to people all the time over a large period of time.

Or maybe I just had a bad attitude. Or at least the wrong attitude for hospitality. I’m starting to think that hospitality and I are not well suited for each other. I have never been particularly good at talking to people. I have never been much of a people person. I have never been good at being the centre of attention and I always seem to say the wrong thing or say it in the wrong way.

It’s not the first time I’ve encountered problems in a hospitality position. I didn’t make it far in trial for a waitress position because of my poor social skills in regards to a couple of the workers who were there. I wouldn’t be surprised if I’d had a few complaints during my first ever job. I was probably really bad back then, too. Actually, there probably was because one shift I had used to be busy and then before I left, it wasn’t as busy so maybe I did do a horrible job then.

Unfortunately there’s not a lot of jobs or situations where you don’t need to come into contact with people.

I think I need to figure out what my ‘bad’ attitude is like and to figure out another different attitude.

About mypersonallthing

Musings from an unknown Writing about random things, books I'm reading and snippets from my daily life. View all posts by mypersonallthing

Post A Comment

