Friday Fun — Choosing Publishers to Query

Live to Write - Write to Live

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: How do you decide which publishers to query with a particular piece?

wendy-shotWendy Thomas: I give a lot of credibility to agents who are recommended to me by others – it also doesn’t hurt to have a personal introduction to an agent by someone who is already being represented by her. Usually that’s enough to set up a dialog.

If I don’t have that, I pour through the yearly Guide to Literary Agents and I pay attention to the articles in writers’ magazines that will often highlight an agent who is looking for work.

If I am trying to match myself up with an unknown agent (sort of like being on a dating…

View original post 174 more words

About mypersonallthing

Musings from an unknown Writing about random things, books I'm reading and snippets from my daily life. View all posts by mypersonallthing

Post A Comment

