Attack of the Killer Words and Phrases!

Thanks for the list, Michelle 🙂

Michelle Joyce Bond

imageWhat words and phrases do you seek and destroy in your writing?  Which annoy the heck out of you in books you’ve read?

I’m compiling a list of words and phrases that may be considered weak, fatty, passive, cliché, or redundant.  Of course, writers can’t always eliminate these words.  We use our own discretion, but often when I find these weak words, I find my weakest sentences and will spend quite some time revising and rebuilding that text.  It isn’t just a matter of using the delete key.

Here are my top favorite seek-and-destroy words and phrases:

  • very
  • there was/there were (my biggest offenders when it comes to passive voice)
  • then
  • started
  • like (still working on this–I’m simile obsessed!)

There are other kinds of words that I try to weed out in general as well.  I love adverbs and will still use them though often I know a sentence is much…

View original post 64 more words

About mypersonallthing

Musings from an unknown Writing about random things, books I'm reading and snippets from my daily life. View all posts by mypersonallthing

2 responses to “Attack of the Killer Words and Phrases!

Post A Comment

