Artistic Consumption: How Much is Too Much?

Great post – thanks for sharing!

Book Guy Reviews

EnF7DhHROS8OMEp2pCkx_Dufer food overhead hig res

At the beginning of every school year I ask my classes to write a story. That’s it. Just give me a story about anything.

After which they must analyze said story for figurative language and elemental plot details. What I don’t ask for every year is the barrage of questions that immediately follow, pertaining to character, setting, theme, eye-color–can my main character be a warlock? Sure! Can mine be set on Mars? Why not? What about guns? Go bananas…

After about twenty minutes of this kind of thing I inevitably institute teacher law, which is pretty self-explanatory. I hit the lights, they work, I circulate and make sure everyone’s on task. But there’s always a lingering sense of distraction about the fact that they still have to create something from nothing.

I’m a teacher by day and a writer every other second, and from experience, attempts to instill some tinge of creativity in those used to having most…

View original post 352 more words

About mypersonallthing

Musings from an unknown Writing about random things, books I'm reading and snippets from my daily life. View all posts by mypersonallthing

Post A Comment

