Destiny and Debt: What You Owe the World, and What it Owes You

sherinaspeaks

Debt is often associated with money. But did you know that there was a kind of debt that money cannot pay off?

I’m not talking about debt as in owing someone something after they do you a favor, though that is a debt that does not require money to be paid off. What I’m talking about is a debt that is owed by you, to the world, the second you are born.

It’s weird, I know. Before a few days ago, I had never thought about it before. But then I found myself in an audience, listening to a speaker. The topic of the speech was the empowerment of girls, and there was one particular thing that the speaker said that stuck in my head.

“I don’t owe it to the world to be pretty.”

This made me think, because firstly, growing up in a time when media and digitally…

View original post 584 more words

About mypersonallthing

Musings from an unknown Writing about random things, books I'm reading and snippets from my daily life. View all posts by mypersonallthing

Post A Comment

