Being Rude Without Knowing It

A friend of mine pointed out that I was being a bit rude over the weekend when I was asking someone a question about a drink they wanted. They didn’t hear or understand what I said at first and the friend asked if I had noticed that I had been a bit rude when repeating myself. I said I hadn’t really noticed and that maybe it was because I had to repeat myself in regards to asking them if they wanted a dry or a cola in the drink they ordered. She pointed out that maybe they didn’t understand or know that that drink came in dry and cola and that I should smile and nicely repeat myself.

Obviously I still need to be careful when I’m getting a little annoyed with people when I’m talking to them. At least I had a friend there who pointed out that I was being rude when I didn’t realize and offered advice on how to do it better next time that person ordered a drink (the person that they were with came up and ordered the same drinks and I asked if they wanted dry or cola in a nicer manner).

I’m still finding it hard to speak nicely to people when I’m not in the mood for it or if I’m getting annoyed about repeating myself or if they’re just being stupid. I am always surprised at how unobservant people can be and how little they use their common sense (if they have any). I’ve been asked numerous times for pots of beer even though the place I volunteer at has no beer taps (if they looked, they would see – generally if I see people looking around the bar, I assume that’s what they were looking for and say that we don’t have any and just sell cans or stubbies/glass bottles – but there’s people who don’t bother looking at all). I’ve been asked what’s on tap and when I say water, I get odd looks just before telling them we have no beer taps and it’s whatever is in the fridge. There have been people who ask if we have an ATM (which we don’t) or an eftpos machine (which we do and which we have two small signs up at the bar stating that). There are people who don’t notice there is an assistance bell because they don’t look (I don’t know how you can miss a shiny silver bell). There’s even been people who’ve asked if the place was open despite the open sign being out, music was playing and people were there all because the wind had blown the front door shut. And there’s people who ask if the place is open on days when it’s closed and I’ve gone to take the bin out despite the fact that there are signs up stating what days the place is open.

It would be nice if people who work in hospitality didn’t have to deal with large amounts of stupid during a shift.

About mypersonallthing

Musings from an unknown Writing about random things, books I'm reading and snippets from my daily life. View all posts by mypersonallthing

One response to “Being Rude Without Knowing It

Post A Comment

