Harry Potter and Me

Yes, I am a big Harry Potter fan. I had read the first four books in the series that had been published by the time I was ten (I enjoyed reading them that much I had asked for them for Christmas and was very excited when I received them). It had all stared when my Grade 3 teacher read Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone.

I can’t tell you exactly what was so enticing about the books. I read my copies of the first four books constantly. It was around the time two of my grandparents had died and my parents moved us to another state. The books felt more like companions helping me to deal with the big changes than fictional stories. They also prompted me to want to be a writer.

I waited eagerly for The Order of the Phoenix, The Half-Blood Prince and The Deathly Hallows to be released. I read each one within days. They were the first thick books I had read. I enjoyed all the little details in each book. One day, I will read The Half-Blood Prince and The Deathly Hallows and then read the whole series from start to finish. I’m thinking that this will help me notice more different little details throughout the series that way.

I identified with most of the characters in different ways. I identified with Hermione because I was a bit like her – the bookish ugly duckling. Later on, I identified with Luna Lovegood the most as she was being bullied for being different and so was I. Luna changed my outlook on the bullying. The bullies didn’t know me very well and it was okay to be different and not to be part of the cool or popular group. I was ostracized a bit during high school for being different (like Luna) and because of some of the choices I made (like Harry but Harry made better decisions than I at the same age. Anyway, I still stand by the idea that kids are cruel and the people I went to school with during that time period were arseholes).

J. K. Rowling and Harry Potter taught me a lot. They taught me different life lessons, how to deal with death, how to face your fate head on, friendship, bravery, courage, to hold my head high during adversity, to determine what is right and wrong, that people are flawed and to try and make good decisions.

Each character has taught me something different at different stages of my life and at different stages of the series. I don’t know what I would have done if Harry Potter hadn’t been written and if I never read it. I don’t know how different my life would have been if I had never came across the series. I don’t know how many children have been influenced by the Harry Potter series in similar ways. I am grateful and thankful that J. K. Rowling had written the books and they were able to get published.

About mypersonallthing

Musings from an unknown Writing about random things, books I'm reading and snippets from my daily life. View all posts by mypersonallthing

8 responses to “Harry Potter and Me

Post A Comment

