Influential Song #6

Another influential/favourite song of mine is Paradise City by Guns ‘N’ Roses (you can listen to it here). G’N’R had been one of my most favourite bands since I was about sixteen.

I can’t tell you why exactly this is one of my favourite songs. Maybe it’s the guitar riffs? Or maybe it was the song that somehow told me that things will be better and that there are better places than the high school I went to at the time and the small town I was living in at the time too. I was at my angry, angsty, rebellious (?) teenage stage and I guess Guns ‘N’ Roses gave me something to focus on at the time. You can hear the attitude coming off duff, Slash, Izzy, Axl and Steven in this song. I guess I kind of changed my attitude a little to be similar to what I thought theirs was like at the time (you have to remember this was before I read the memoirs written by Slash, Steven and Duff and before I read Reckless Road by Marc Canter and found out more about them). Another reason I listened to them was because no one else in my class listened to them and I wanted to listen to something more meaningful and different to what everyone else was listening to.

Take me down
To the paradise city
Where the grass is green
And the girls are pretty
Take me home

Rags to riches or so they say
Ya gotta-keep pushin’
for the fortune and fame
It’s all a gamble
When it’s just a game
Ya treat it like a capital crime
Everybody’s doin’ their time

About mypersonallthing

Musings from an unknown Writing about random things, books I'm reading and snippets from my daily life. View all posts by mypersonallthing

Post A Comment

