Monsters

Where did the time go? I didn’t recall being here for so long. I only intended to be for five, maybe ten minutes. But definitely not for nearly five hours.

I looked around. It was getting dark now. God, what time was it? I didn’t wear a watch. I felt around in my pockets looking for my mobile phone but I couldn’t find it. Did I leave at home? Did I leave it in the car? Where was the car?

I looked around again. I didn’t recognize anything around me. Where was I and how did I manage to get here? I was in some forest somewhere – there were thick trees surrounding me. I had only gone to visit the riverbank. I wanted to see the spot where it happened, where it had all gone wrong for a lot of people.

There was a track. I decided to follow it, wishing that I had a torch or my mobile phone on me. That would have made things easier. Mobile phones were called mobile phones for a reason.

I stumbled along the track. It seemed like I was going deeper and deeper into the forest. It was nearly pitch black now. There was barely any moonlight coming in through the tree leaves.

I heard all sorts of unimaginable noises which made me quicken my pace. I didn’t know what was out there in amongst the trees. What if it was some sort of monster coming after me because it was hungry?

Finally, I was able to find the outskirts of the forest. I was miles off from where I parked my car. I headed off in the direction it was in.

Little did I know it wasn’t the monsters in the forest that I should be afraid of. It was the human monsters, the ones that stalked you and raped and assaulted you before taking your life away from you.

About mypersonallthing

Musings from an unknown Writing about random things, books I'm reading and snippets from my daily life. View all posts by mypersonallthing

Post A Comment

