Why I Started Blogging

I’ve been blogging on and off using a few different blogging sites for a few years now. Most of them didn’t last for long because I lost interest and had no idea what I was doing and I really didn’t know much about blogging. I managed to maintain a blog on Tumblr for a couple of years and now I barely use it.

I decided to set up a wordpress.com account for my photography after someone suggested it. I haven’t posted much to that one as I haven’t been taking too many photos lately.

I then decided to set up a different account to run a more anonymous blog and see how I’ll go from there. I had no idea what I was going to write about so I started writing about my daily life: job searching, the course I was doing to help me with job searching, the aged care course that I’m doing and other little snippets of my life. I then later began writing posts about what books I was reading at the time. After that, I was writing poems and some very short stories.

As the blog grew, I began getting more likes and more followers. I’ve even made a few friends through my blog.

I never thought that what I was posting was interesting or good enough for people to like and want to keep reading. It constantly amazes me when I get a notification of a like or a comment or a new follower.

I am not getting there and planning posts (whether it’s writing them in longhand, writing dot points or doing mind maps). changing the theme of the blog to make it easier for me and my viewers to navigate, and I’ve bulked together different posts with tags and categories to be better organized. I’ve never been a big planner – I seem to take forever to start and procrastinate while trying to get motivated to start something and I tend to lean towards the winging it side of things. And now I’m planning things in advance for this blog.

About mypersonallthing

Musings from an unknown Writing about random things, books I'm reading and snippets from my daily life. View all posts by mypersonallthing

5 responses to “Why I Started Blogging

Post A Comment

