Musical inspiration

Do any of you writers listen to music as a form of inspiration?

I have certain albums and songs that I use as inspiration because they put me in the mood of a certain scene or what a certain character may be feeling at a point in time in the story.

Some of the albums that I listen to are (and please don’t pick on me for the choices):
Bat Out Hell III: The Monster Is Loose by Meat Loaf
Hang Cool Teddy Bear by Meat Loaf
Cradlesong by Rob Thomas
Something To Be by Rob Thomas
The Heroin Diaries by Sixx:A.M.
This Is Gonna Hurt by Sixx:A.M.
Human Fragility by Hunters & Collectors
Metallica by Metallica

And some songs that I listen to are:
The Unforgiven III by Metallica
You Ruin Me by the Veronicas
Crimson and Clover by Joan Jett and the Blackhearts
Fire On the Mountain by Rob Thomas
I’m On Fire by Bruce Springsteen
Iris by The Goo Goo Dolls
Scandal by Queen
Nothing Else Matters by Metallica
For Whom The Bell Tolls by Metallica
Hearing Damaged by Thom Yorke (I tend to listen to this one while editing)

There’s lots more songs and a few more albums that I listen to when I’m writing. I have a playlist for each of the two stories that I’m writing and some of the songs I listen to are in both playlists. A lot of the songs and albums can be seen as dealing with dark subjects but I think the stories are dark in themselves. Both stories deal with dark subjects such as horror, grief, trauma, murder and maybe a serial killer or two ( I don’t want to give away too much at the moment and there is a chance I may have a slight morbid fascination with serial killers).

I know that there are a few writers out there who can’t listen to music at all during their writing process and that there’s some who only listen to music when editing or just writing.

About mypersonallthing

Musings from an unknown Writing about random things, books I'm reading and snippets from my daily life. View all posts by mypersonallthing

6 responses to “Musical inspiration

Post A Comment

